It’s Monday – What Are You Reading? 09/11/2015

t’s Monday, What Are You Reading? was initiated by Sheila at Book Journey, and adapted by Kellee at Unleashing Readers and Jen at Teach Mentor Texts with a children’s/YA focus – perfect for a children’s librarian like me. This weekly roundup is a great way to discover new blogs and bloggers, share recommended (or not so recommended….) titles, and add to your ever-growing to-read list.

imwayr

This week is a bit of a special edition of IMWAYR – today I’ll be sharing a few upcoming picture books that I’m really excited about. I had the opportunity to attend a preview of 2016 picture books and get my hands on a couple of ARCs, and I am so inspired by all the amazing picture books that will be gracing our shelves in the new year. Before working in a library I had no idea just how many new books are published every year – it really just boggles the mind!! These are just a couple of the many books that were previewed at the event, and the only ones I was able to get ARCs of.

Goose Goes to the Zoo

Title: Goose Goes to the Zoo
Author/Illustrator: Laura Wall
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: 2016
Genre/Format: Fiction/Picture Book
Publisher’s Summary: Sophie and Goose are best friends, but Sophie thinks Goose might be lonely while she is at school. So the pair set off for the zoo to find another friend for Goose to play with… A charming story about an unusual and heart-warming friendship. Laura’s often laugh-out-loud illustrations make Goose an instant favourite with readers young and old! One of a series of 4 published together: Goose, Goose Goes to School and Happy Birthday, Goose

My Two Cents: This new addition to the Goose series by British picture book author/illustrator Laura Wall is already available in Britain, and will be arriving in North America in 2016. I love Laura Wall’s colourful illustrations, with their vivid colours and simple lines. This is a sweet story about friendship, in which a little girl named Sophie helps her friend Goose make new friends. Like a true friend Sophie puts Goose’s happiness first, even if it means she could lose her best friend. Children will be gently reassured that they can make new friends without having to sacrifice their existing friendships. These books are just a riot of colour, with simple text popping against the bold, eye-catching, brilliantly-coloured backgrounds, making it a really fun series for young readers.

silly

Title: Silly Wonderful You
Author: Sherri Duskey Rinker

Illustrator: Patrick McDonnell
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: 2016
Genre/Format: Fiction/Picture Book
Publisher’s Summary: From the bestselling author of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, Sherri Duskey Rinker, and the award-winning creator of Me . . . Jane and The Skunk, Patrick McDonnell, comes this funny and tender love letter from a parent to her child. Before YOU came along, so many things were different! But now there’s a giggly baby, a house full of adventures and toys, a million little surprises. . . . And so much love.

My Two Cents: I really enjoyed Patrick McDonnell’s Me….Jane and The Skunk, as well as his Mutts newspaper comic, so I was definitely excited to get my hands on this picture book. Silly Wonderful You is a lovely story for baby time, and a gentle celebration of the silly, messy, noisy, tiring yet wonderful world of parenthood. This would be a beautiful gift for a new parent or caregiver, as it’s really written more for parents than for children. As usual McDonnell’s illustrations really shine, managing to be cute without being saccharine, and keeping a bit of that old-fashioned newspaper cartoon feel. I’m the first to admit that I’m a bit of a sap, but the final few pages of this story did get me a bit misty eyed. It’s loving and genuine without being cloying or tooth-achingly syrupy-sweet, which is a something I find plagues too many picturebooks aimed at parents. I really enjoyed Silly Wonderful You, and would definitely recommend having a look!

worm

Title: Worm Loves Worm
Author: J. J. Austrian

Illustrator: Mike Curator
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: 2016
Genre/Format: Fiction/Picture Book
Publisher’s SummaryPerfect for fans of And Tango Makes Three and The Sissy Duckling, this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big City, Mike Curato.

You are cordially invited to celebrate the wedding of a worm . . . and a worm.

When a worm meets a special worm and they fall in love, you know what happens next: They get married! But their friends want to know—who will wear the dress? And who will wear the tux?

The answer is: It doesn’t matter. Because Worm loves worm.

My Two Cents: YES! I was really happy to get my hands on this book, which  joyously celebrates the all-encompassing power of love. When worm and worm decide to get married, all of their friends have an opinion as to how things should be done (anyone who’s ever been engaged can tell you a thing or two about that…..). Worm and worm just want to get married, but things have always been done a certain way, and not everyone is comfortable doing things differently. In the end, though, love triumphs over doubt, and worm and worm celebrate their special day the way it should be celebrated – their own way.

Worm loves worm is a story about love conquering all, and about staying true to yourself, even in the face of opposition. It can be interpreted as a story about gay marriage or interracial or intercultural marriage, but it’s also a story about standing up for yourself when everyone around you has an opinion, and not losing your sense of self. It’s a story about accepting change, and about being gracious when other people have different opinions. The story of Worm loves worm is a simple one, but one that has a very positive spirit. Lots of fun and highly recommended.

So, what have you been reading this week?

Advertisements

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday – What Are You Reading? 09/11/2015

    • I think it would work really nicely in a classroom, where you could do a lot with it – I like that the stories is primarily about marriage, but could really be discussed in all sorts of different directions, because it’s a great story about respecting other opinions and making compromises. I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  1. Jealous of all your ARCs, so great! Very intrigued by Worm Loves Worm. I just wonder whether its a book that kids will connect to (weddings and marriage are not hot topics with my third graders – “love, eww!”) but certainly a book with an important message. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • I can barely keep up with everything that’s coming out, and there are so many classic titles I still haven’t read! If only being a librarian actually did mean just sitting and reading books all day, like some people seem to think it does 🙂

      Like

  2. I will wait (but not so patiently) for Worm Loves Worm. It would be interesting to pair it up with a nonfiction title about worms. I can imagine that a conversation about the sex life of worms would be an interesting dialogue in a primary classroom.

    Like

    • HA, that’s a great idea! I think that would make for a great extension activity, and it’s true, kids who are unfamiliar with worm anatomy might not understand why there isn’t a conventional boy worm and girl worm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s